Contact Us


The Project Partners

The consortium is a multidisciplinary team, exploiting the synergies between medical physicists, dentists and dental radiologists, dental clinicians, experts in systematic review and guideline development and industry. Each participant has a good balance of staff. In each centre, excluding the industrial partner, there is both dental and medical physics expertise. The participants have an established track record in delivering successful projects in previous Framework programmes. We are familiar with the systems governing European Research. All the participants have established inter-relationships. Partners 1 and 2 were part of the expert group who developed European Guidelines for Radiation Protection in Dental Radiology (2004). Partners 1,2,5 and 6 were partners in the Framework 5 ‘OSTEODENT’ project (QLK6-2002-02243). There are existing research and support relationships between Participants 3 and 5 and between 6 and 7. Participant 4 (SME) has an existing relationship with Participant 1 through the latter carrying out clinical testing of dental phantoms.

The Project Members

SEDENTEXCT project members met on January 21/22 2008 in Leuven, Belgium, for their “Kick-off” meeting. Those pictured also include European Commission representatives and University of Manchester EU Research Officers.

Participant 1: University of Manchester, UK

Manchester logo

This participant leads Work packages 1 and 6 and participates in Work packages 2 and 5.  

The School of Dentistry has a national and international reputation for its outstanding research, covering areas from stem cell research and genetics to clinical trials and systematic reviews.

North Western Medical Physics Department (NWMP), part of Christie Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, integrates the support of clinical services with research and development. Research grants and contracts support full time research staff working in collaborations with industry and other universities and hospitals in the UK, Europe and the United States.

Keith Horner is Project Co-ordinator and has previous experience of co-ordinating a European Framework 5 project. 

Jim Petch leads WP6. He is Head of Distributed Learning for the University of Manchester.

Vivian Rushton is Senior Lecturer in Dental and Maxillofacial Radiology and the lead for WP1.

Hugh Devlin is the ‘dental’ lead for WP6. He is Reader in Restorative Dentistry.

Anne Walker is a consultant medical physicist and leads the Radiation Protection Service provided by NWMP. She contributes to WP2.

Anne-Marie Glenny is a Lecturer in Evidence Based Oral Healthcare and will contribute to WP1

Stephen Birch is Professor of Health Economics. His main research interests are in methods for economic evaluation of health interventions, equity in health care resource allocation and the relationship between health and environments. He is senior editor, Health Economics for Social Science and Medicine. He will contribute to WP5.

[ List ]

Participant 2: National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Athens Logo

The Oral Diagnosis and Radiology Department of the School of Dentistry.

Professor Kostas Tsiklakis will lead WP3 but also contribute to WP1 and WP6 and is Head of the Department of Oral Diagnosis and Radiology. He is currently President of the European Academy of Dental and Maxillofacial Radiology (EADMFR).

Professor Kety Karayianni leads the Forensic Odontology Unit within the Department of Oral Diagnosis and Radiology and will contribute to WP1 but also to WP6.

Dr. Harry Charalabos Stamatakis is a full time Lecturer in the Department of Oral Diagnosis and Radiology and will contribute to WP2 and WP3.

[ List ]

Participant 3: “Iuliu Hatieganu” University of Medicine and Pharmacy in Cluj-Napoca, Romania


This Participant will be represented by the Laboratory of Oral and Maxillofacial Imagistics and the Craniofacial Deformity Centre of the Faculty of Dental Medicine. This centre was the first in Romania to use CBCT and its radiological/surgical collaboration allows it to play a leading role in WP4. The key staff contributing to WP4 are:

Grigore Baciut is professor and leader of the Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery, Oral Implantology and Oral Rehabilitation Department.

Mihaela Hedesiu, who is primary radiology clinician and leads the Dental Radiology Department. She will also contribute to WP1 and WP6.

[ List ]

Participant 4: Leeds Test Objects Ltd., Boroughbridge, UK

Leeds Logo

Leeds Test Objects Ltd is a UK registered SME that designs, manufactures and sells medical X-ray quality assurance test objects, based in Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire in UK.  LTO has five employees and the two most senior will be contributing to WP2 and 3.

Michael C Bannard (Managing Director) is a mechanical engineer.

Adrian Walker (Technical Manager) is a graduate chemist with a background in the chemical and electronic industries who established the design and manufacturing functions of LTO in its current location.

[ List ]

Participant 5: Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

Leuven Logo

The group includes the Oral Imaging Centre (coordination R. Jacobs), the Personal Dosimetry unit (coordination R. Bogaerts) and LUCMFR, Leuven's University Centre for Medical Physics in Radiology. This partner contributes significantly to WP 2,3, and 4.

Reinhilde Jacobs is dentist, Doctor in Dental Sciences (PhD) & periodontologist (KU Leuven) and Master in Dental Radiology (Univ London). She will contribute to WP4 but also to WP1 and WP6. She is professor at the School of Dentistry (KU Leuven).

Hilde Bosmans obtained a degree of civil engineer in physics from the University of Gent in 1987, biomedical engineer at the KU Leuven in 1988, and a PhD degree in medical sciences in 1992. She was appointed professor in 1997. She will contribute to WP2.  

Ria Bogaerts is a physicist. She will contribute to WP2 and WP3.

[ List ]

Participant 6: Malmö University, Sweden


The Faculty of Odontology of Malmö University has research as one of its primary functions with many collaborating national and international partners. For more than 20 years an important and well established co-operation exists with the Department of Radiation Physics at Malmö University Hospital that has resulted in collaborative scientific publications and quality assurance in the daily clinical work.

Christina Lindh is responsible for WP5 but also contributes to WP1 and WP6.

Madeleine Rohlin is Professor in Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology (appointed 1993) and will contribute to WP5.

[ List ]

Participant 7: Vilnius University


The dosimetry (WP2) will be performed in the Radiation Protection Centre of Lithuania (, where the Division of Programmes and Expertise of Radiation Protection Centre is accredited according to standard ISO 17025. 

Deimante Ivanauskaite  is a dentist, a specialist in Periodontology and Head of the subdivision of Oral Radiology. She will contribute principally to WP5, but also to WP1 and WP6.

Julius Ziliukas has been an engineer-radiologist at the Radiation Protection Centre in Department of Programmes and Expertise since 1997 and a member of the Lithuanian Radiation Protection Society (Member of International Radiation Protection Association). He will be the local physics contact for WP2.

[ List ]